MAY & JUNE 2022 BOOK REVIEWS

Book lover here. Read quite a few over these past two months.

Eight to be exact.

Not too shabby.

Lots of good ones this month which I'm very grateful for because the couple months prior were filled with a few duds. Take a seat and read about what's been filling my brain. Don't worry, I will never share spoilers! Everything will be rated out of 5 stars and go like this : ⭐️ : could not finish ⭐️⭐️ : finished but would not recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️ : appreciated the writing but the content of the book was underwhelming ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ : a wonderful book but I was left wanting more/something was missing, would recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ : my whole soul felt this and I have to share it with the world; would read again


WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING BY ALYSSA COLE

finished 5.1.22

⭐️⭐️⭐️

I’m not entirely sure how to feel about this book. I was all in in the beginning, but it was quite a discombobulated timeline. The ending wrapped up so quickly.

Appreciate that she incorporated current issues going on in society. Wasn’t overly political with still getting the point across.

It also made my brain think about all the nonsense that does go on in our political society and how corrupt it is.

Glad I read it but wasn’t the thriller I was looking for. A bit dull in that aspect.



THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ BY HEATHER MORRIS

finished 5.10.22

⭐️⭐️⭐️

I am a sucker for historical fiction (especially WWII stuff) so I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but there was room for so much more potential. Of course, it has a beautiful love story which always grabs my attention. The ending wrapped up super quick and I wasn’t ready for it to end. Wish there was a follow up of Lale and Gita’s love story. I am excited to see there is a second book for Cilka’s story which I will have to read sometime.

Great book but there are others I would recommend to a friend before this one.

AFTER I DO BY TAYLOR JENKINS REID

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ok, that’s it. I’m adding Taylor Jenkins Reid close to the top of my favorite authors list. Only the second book of hers that I have read, but dammit she is good! The truth about love in her books is so real. It is felt so deeply. It’s always a good thing when you finish a book and somehow love your husband even more than you already did. Like how does that happen. Taylor Jenkins Reid makes that happen. That’s how. 😉 Anyway, I’m a major fan. Will be picking up all of her books and making my way through them.

side note : I wouldn’t say I’m stingy with my 5 stars, but I don’t give them out lightly. The book has to have given me everything I needed. I want to be left not wanting more or less, the timeline needs to flow nicely and the story must make me feel deeply. I need to laugh and/or cry. This book did all those things. I don’t like to compare books, but it wasn’t a “TOP” for me like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, The Nightingale, Where the Crawdads Sing. Ya feel me? Phenomenal book, but different level of life changing. 🤗 Absolutely recommend.

THE INTERESTINGS BY MEG WOLITZER

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

finished 5.29.22

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Have been trying to find a good book based on friendship since the start of the year and failed with a couple others I read.

This book has been on my bookshelf for years. & every time I start a new book I think, “I should really read that” & never do. Well, it was finally it’s time. & I’m so glad it was. A perfect fit for the moment in time.

Like a Nora Roberts book, I feel like the characters were so well depicted and you really got to know them.

It was just a nice even paced story about a group of friends through the decades and how friendships change as you move through life.

The book often switched from past, present and future within the same sentence which was quite odd but written extremely well and easy to follow.

THE SILENT PATIENT BY ALEX MICHAELIDES

finished 5.2.22

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really struggled with how many stars to give this book. Toggled back and forth between 3 and 4 stars. I enjoyed, it. I really did. But it left me wanting so much more. So many things were left unsaid. Also, it ended on a total cliff hanger. What happens to Theo? That could be a whole other book.

& Jean Felix. Why did he tell Alicia that the people around her can’t be trusted. What did he see that went untold in the book and who was he speaking of?

I just have so many questions.

Also, I pegged Theo from the very beginning. Which is always disappointing as a reader. I don’t wanna be able to see what’s coming.

The chapters were set up great. Super short and every single one left you wanting more from the story. Each chapter a bit of a cliffhanger. Which means the book only lasted like 2 days for me. 😂

Quick, easy and fun read.

Predictable though.

& was left wanting answers.

THE GREAT ALONE BY KRISTIN HANNAH

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

finished 6.8.22

I loved this book so much. So much.

“Books are the mile markers of my life. Some people have family photos or home movies to record their past. I’ve got books. Characters. For as long as I can remember, books have been my safe place.”

-Kristin Hannah

This quote jumped off the page to me and right into my lap.

There are so many books I remember reading at certain points in my life that were integral to my life journey at that point. So I felt this.

The book was excellent. At times hard to read because of the domestic violence in it, but a beautiful story of survival and what you do for love. This book made me cry so many times. I felt so invested in the characters, especially Leni. Happy tears but mostly sad tears if I’m being honest.

This is an “I will read this book again” type of book.

PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION BY EMILY HENRY

finished 6.15.22

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Well this was a delight.

Totally predictable and the perfect love story with some well written sex scenes.

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Perfect for a vacation beach read.

But like, I could NEVER wait as long as Poppy and Alex did to act on love. Damn.

THE LOST MAN BY JANE HARPER

finished 6.24.22

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Loved this book. My first by her.

Was perfectly paced. The mystery of the book made you want to keep reading but it wasn’t urgent until the last 40-50 pages. Had just about everything you could want. Mystery, pain, love, understanding, tragedy. I was absolutely NOT expecting the ending. But not in the way of I wish it wouldn’t have happened. It was the perfect ending to the storyline.

Thoroughly enjoyed this. Recommend.


Pick up a book this week!

& check out my reel on Instagram HERE!


As always, like comment, share & subscribe!

I love hearing form you guys!!


Thanks for joining me in this space.

xoxo

Kirsten ☀️

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All